Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Cake

For my daughter Brittany’s 14th birthday I wanted to make her a special cake. I thought about the idea of using her all time favourite chocolate bar the Reese Peanut Butter Cup. I decided to Google my thought and discovered of course that it wasn’t an original idea! Not too shocking with all the great minds out there in the world. Anyhow, I read through a couple of recipes and decided to basically follow the recipe from “The Idea Room” blog. The cake was loaded with PB cups and it was very decadent for sure – perfect for a special occasion. The only thing I did change is the way it was decorated. The original recipe covered the top of the cake with chopped up PB cups but I used different PB cups and chocolate and created some flowers with liquorice stems as decoration. I also used Reese’s pieces, PB filled hearts for the leaves and PB chips too.  Ahhh yes, there was no lack of chocolate or peanut butter in this cake!

Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Cake with chocolate ganache and decorated with PB flowers

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 devil’s food cake mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup of buttermilk (alternate is to add 1 tsp. of vinegar to your milk and let it sit for a few minutes)
  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
  • 2 cups of chopped peanut butter cups to go in the batter –which is about 2 packages of PB cups (with 3 individual cups inside)
  • another 2 packages of PB cups for decorating plus whatever else you want to use on top. I used some miniature Reese’s PB cups,PB hearts,Reese’s pieces and PB chips.
  • 8 oz. semi sweet chocolate, chopped up (original recipe used dark chocolate)
  • 1 cup of heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup of peanut butter

DIRECTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 350′ and coat two 9″ round pans with cooking spray.
  • In a large bowl, beat cake mix, eggs, buttermilk and vegetable oil on low for 30 seconds. Increase to med-high speed and beat for 2 minutes. Fold in the chopped PB cups.
  • Pour batter into pans and bake until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. For me this was approximately 40 minutes.
  • Cool cakes completely.

DIRECTIONS FOR ICING, which is apparently called ganache

  • Place chopped chocolate in a medium bowl. Bring cream to a boil and then pour over the chocolate. Whisk until the chocolate melts. Add the peanut butter and whisk till smooth.
  • Place one layer of cake on plate and pour 1 cup of icing on top.Spread evenly with a spatula. Add second layer and pour remaining icing on top and ice down the sides too.
  • Allow icing to set for a minute and gently decorate the top. You can cover the top with chopped PB cups or decorate like I did. Refrigerate for about an hour before serving.

PHOTO DIRECTIONS

ingredients for Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Cake

It wouldn’t be any fun if I didn’t show a close up of the PB cups! Smile

 Reeses Peanut Butter Cups to make a cake

Stir the PB cups that are chopped up into the batter.

reeses peanut butter cake batter

Here it is! It didn’t rise much but that made it easier to ice.

 reese's peanut butter cup cake just out of the oven

PHOTOS FOR THE GANACHE/ICING

chopped up chocolate for the reeses peanut butter cake

Start with chopped chocolate in a bowl and then add in boiling hot cream and whisk.

 Melted Chocolate

Icing in on the cake.

ganache 'icing' on a Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Cake

Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Cake - decorated with P.B. Cup flowers

I have got to say that I have never made ganache before and it is fabulous stuff! It went on so nicely and it looked so professional. I really loved it and I definitely think I will make it again.

inside the Peanut Butter Cup Cake!

Here is my birthday girl! She was pretty impressed with her cake and I am hoping she got her fill of Peanut Butter Cups!

Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Cake for a birthday

11 responses

  1. This looks so good! I may have to give it a whirl next time I’m babysitting my nieces & nephews… but will serve it up just as the parents come to pick them up :)
    (thanks for stopping by my blog!)

    • That is great. I hope you like it (really, how could you not with all the chocolate and Peanut Butter!) ha ha and I enjoy checking in at your blog.

Leave a Reply

