Baking Chocolate Chip Muffins with my Mama ♥

In honour of Mother’s Day I would like to share a recipe for Chocolate Chip Muffins that were made by my Mom! She is an awesome baker and an awesome Mom too. Happy Mother’s Day to my Mom and all the Moms out there! I will be taking tomorrow off from writing a blog. I am hoping to have some coffee served to me even though we are at a hotel at my daughter’s dance competition! I will be back on Monday with my Smile of the Week. Enjoy the rest of your week-end everyone!

chocolate chip muffins with Mama

I recently headed over to my Mama’s house to make some muffins. This time we decided on a dessert muffin. The recipe calls for a chocolate drizzle and at first we did not add it but then decided, what the heck! The muffin recipe once again comes from the Muffin Mania cookbook by Cathy Prange and Joan Pauli. Every time I go to my Mama’s to bake muffins, Mama and I go through her china cabinet looking for a plate to put the muffins on for a photo. Each time my Mama pulls out different plates and tells me the history of them. Each plate seems to have a story. I am thinking a tour of Mama’s china cabinet could make for a fun blog so you can watch for that coming up one day soon! Anyway, we chose this really pretty pink plate for this day.

Recipe for Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 & 1/2 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of white sugar
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. of salt
  • 1 cup of chocolate chips
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1/3 cup of melted butter
  • 1 egg

Directions

  • Mix the dry ingredients and add chocolate chips
  • Combine egg, milk and butter and stir into the flour mixture. Do not beat, just stir!
  • Bake at 375′ for 20 minutes.
  • A few chocolate chips melted and drizzled over the tops when the muffins are slightly cooled, make these a special dessert treat for chocolate lovers.

makes 9 large muffins

PHOTO DIRECTIONS

Mix the dry ingredients

chocolate chip muffins

Stir in the egg, milk and butter.

chocolate chip muffins

chocolate chip muffins

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir.

chocolate chip muffins

Scoop into the muffin pan

chocolate chip muffins

chocolate chip muffins

chocolate chip muffins

chocolate chip muffins

My Mama about to enjoy a muffin. They did not last long!

chocolate chip muffins

Once we put the drizzle on these muffins got even BETTER! They were delicious!

chocolate chip muffins with Mama

If you love muffins then you should check out the other recipes from my Mama! Click here for Banana Muffins and the delicious  Orange Muffins.

Leave a Reply

